Software-properties-kde PyKDE4 port

So this week I tasked myself with porting the apt sources list editor “software-properties-kde” from PyQt4 to PyKDE4.

About the first thing I did was add this message box when you ran software-properties-kde without kdesudo. It always annoyed me that s-p-kde would just say “no root, quitting” in the terminal when you accidentally tried to run it without admin permissions… Now it does this:


Ideally it would prompt for admin rights, but I don’t know if there is enough time before the feature freeze for that.

But that’s not even the main advantage! The main reason I ported software-properties to pykde4 was to make it stop looking like this:

And more like this:

Way better, if I do say so myself. Basically we get the KDE color scheme and KDE MessageBoxes throughout the program. That’s basically all the changes that will be noticeable to the end user.

Code can be found here. I’ll try to get somebody to merge it with the main branch and get another release out.

3 Responses to Software-properties-kde PyKDE4 port

  1. Aoirthoir says:

    Not to disrespect your post, it’s excellent, but:I want your desktop wallpaper!😀 Fine lookin desktop it is, like lovely Eire.

  2. wolfger says:

    Very pretty. Unfortunately, the pretty seems to be the main focus of KDE4, though. At least from my perspective. I’d sure like to see more posts from devs working to restore a 3.5 level of functionality to the world’s best desktop…

  3. JontheEchidna says:

    @aoirthoirYeah, isn’t it nice?http://www.kde-look.org/content/show.php/NIGHT?content=25331You can get this through Get Hot New Stuff in KDE4 too.@wolfgerIn my view, pretty is the side effect of a well-designed system that enables artistic view to be more easily transfered to software. The artists who make nice themes, etc, wouldn’t be coding anyway. So in short:-KDE4 is very pretty because it is a powerful framework that has the potential to become/be built in to anything.

Leave a Reply

