Why it takes so long for me to upload… anything

So, following the latest Planet Ubuntu meme, here’s my speedtest.net results:


Pretty pitiful, eh? At least it’s right around the advertised speed. (1.5 mbit down, 0.25 up) It seems that my parents didn’t like the idea of being raped by the local cable company for internet, so they found the secret, non-advertised basic internet package which is probably the only affordable one. Unfortunately, our cable company is about the only company that offers internet out here, since we’re too far away to get service from Verizon. Oh well.

15 Responses to Why it takes so long for me to upload… anything

  1. Dion Moult says:

    Before you complain, I want you to look at MY internet connection in Malaysia.

    http://e2-productions.com/failnation.com/upload/ubr_uploads/2009-05-16-233617_1280x800_scrot.png

    …and this is our best, fastest, broadband package. Look again to check and yes, there is NO k behind the b. Bloody monopolist ISP.

  2. flimm says:

    I got 0.87Mb/s download, and 0.34Mb/s upload. Funnily enough, I get something like 2Kb/s for FTP.

  3. doctormo says:

    Huh your in NH, we're down here in MA and I've never seen you about, do you do any advocacy?

  4. Jochen says:

    Pretty pitiful, eh? At least it's right around the advertised speed. (1.5 mbit up, 0.25 down)

    mbit is not equal mb/s…

  5. maninalift says:

    @Jochen ??

    is that just pedantry (that there is no "per second" in mbit or is there a real relevant distinction to be made between mb/s and mbit?

    While we are being pedantic, it should be Mbit and Mb/s since it is "Mega" not "milli".

  6. Joshua Bushey-Anello says:

    Cox Communications in Vista, CA: 19.83 Mb/s down, 1.91 Mb/s up.

  7. Angel Blue01 says:

    Ha! I have 1.36 Mb/s down .39 Mb/s up, AT&T DSL in Chicago.

    I'm lucky if I get 300 KB/s down from even the fastest servers.

  8. Tom says:

    Hey, depending on where in Manchester you are, I'd be willing to get you WiFi to my connection. I have 50Mbit down and 10Mbit up.

    I'm DrDabbles on the forums.

  9. MarcN says:

    In Merrimack I get 2.89Mb/s up and 0.54Mb/s down on a DSL.

    Does mv.com provide service wherever you live? We've been using them for 10+ years and they are very linux friendly.

  10. Shafqat says:

    I'm on dialup.

    56 KBps for life!

  11. ganesh v says:

    Mine is a bit quicker. 15/14.🙂 Being on-campus helps!

  12. as says:

    I like your blog . They are really great. Ermunterung ++ .
    some new style Air shoes is in fashion this year.Do you know Air Shoes is a best . another kinds of nike air rift is better . the Puma basket will make you feel very relaxed when you play basketball.
    If you want to buy the Cheap puma shoes shoes ,you can buy them online. Very high-caliber and cheap puma shoes as same as you buy from the authorized store.

  13. as says:

    I like your blog . They are really great. Ermunterung ++ .
    some new style Air shoes is in fashion this year.Do you know Air Shoes is a best . another kinds of nike air rift is better . the Puma basket will make you feel very relaxed when you play basketball.
    If you want to buy the Cheap puma shoes shoes ,you can buy them online. Very high-caliber and cheap puma shoes as same as you buy from the authorized store.

  14. as says:

    this is a introduction about my brother, sister and I .
    I like wear Ugg Boots ,they are ugly ,but very cool and very easy. my young brother is a fans of CONVERSE shoes .he often wears orange CONVERSE shoes .he likes orange color .My younger sister's long hair is always chaotic. so i presented a hair straighteners to her for Christmas last year .she were very pleasantly surprised .it looks very confusing , but I love them .

Leave a Reply

